PA - Central League

PA - Central League/ PA - Central League

All Delco Boys Soccer Teams

Posted On: Friday, December 07, 2018
By: ldevlin

Congratulations to the following Central League boys soccer players who were named to the All Delco teams.

1st Team

Nate Perrins, Strath Haven: see article for Player of the Year

Evan Majercak, Radnor: Paired with Bennett Mueller, the senior center back forged a sturdy pairing in the middle of the field that powered the Raiders to the PIAA Class 4A final. Along the way, the Raiders kept 12 clean sheets and allowed 19 goals in 26 games while deploying rotating goalkeepers in a 20-win campaign. In eight postseason games, the Raiders posted three clean sheets and allowed just seven goals (six-and-a-half, depending on how you regard the Wilson goal that just barely squeaked over the line with 17 seconds left in the state final). Majercak added a goal and an assist, setting up fellow All-Delco Eliot Hayes in the regular-season finale.

Jared Scheffler, Garnet Valley: The senior center back found a way to make his presence felt on both ends of the pitch for the Jaguars, putting out fires at the back and using his long strides to bound into the attack. He scored a goal and an assist in a 3-2 win over Springfield, tallied the game-winner in overtime against Marple Newtown and produced a wonder strike from outside the box on a mazy run from central defense in a victory over Penncrest.

Eliot Hayes, Radnor: The 6-4 central midfielder saved his biggest contributions for last, consistently one of the steadiest players on the Raiders’ run to the PIAA Class 4A final. Hayes formed a formidable spine to the team with Mueller and Majercak, his aerial presence key to the Raiders’ 20-win campaign. Hayes provided five goals and five assists, a large share of them in the postseason. He scored in the regular-season finale against Wissahickon and set up Ben Engstrom’s goal in the district-opening vicotry over Henderson. Hayes scored twice, including the game-winner in the 76th minute, to complete a two-goal comeback and oust Cumberland Valley in the states opener, and he set up Ben Engstrom’s goal in the state semifinal triumph over Seneca Valley.

Will Gardner, Haverford: With the Fords missing two key seniors pieces (Alex Reardon and All-Delco Cam Morse) for most of the season due to injuries, Gardner’s steadfast play propped the Fords up and led them to the District 1 Class 4A playoffs. Gardner led the team with nine goals and added four assists. He tallied game-winning goals in overtime against Strath Haven and Ridley as the Fords won 11 games and earned the 20th seed in the District 1 field. Gardner earned first-team All-Central recognition.

Radnor midfielder Eliot Hayes, right, fending off Spring-Ford’s Sal Ibarra in a postseason game, was one of the Raiders’ top performers in a run to the PIAA Class 4A final. (Thomas Nash – Digital First Media)

Radnor midfielder Eliot Hayes, right, fending off Spring-Ford’s Sal Ibarra in a postseason game, was one of the Raiders’ top performers in a run to the PIAA Class 4A final. (Thomas Nash – Digital First Media)

2nd Team

Henry Cooke, Sr. G, Radnor

Zach Signorello, Sr. D, Haverford

Mitchell Hark, Jr. D, Haverford School

Bennett Mueller, Sr. D, Radnor

Ben Verbofsky, Sr. D, Radnor

Max Brown, Sr. M, Penncrest

Aidan Tripler, Jr. M, Haverford

Daniel Pitt, Sr. M, Academy Park

Nicky Palermo, Sr. M, Strath Haven

Nick Pippis, Sr. M, Haverford School

James Nmah, Jr. M/F, Penn Wood

Jesse Brittain, Jr. F, Christian Academy


Honorable Mention

Garnet Valley: John Luke Buchy, Ethan Hensinger, Aidan Robinson

Haverford: Cam Morse, Alex Reardon, Duncan Riegle

Marple Newtown: Theo Carmichael, Daniel O’Brien

Penncrest: Ethan Emery, Brian MacCurtin, Stephen Woolery

Radnor: David Azzarano, Jackson Birtwistle, Nate Congleton, Ben Engstrom, Bobby Hydrisko, Bobby Kirsch, Jake Lee, Josh Savadove

Ridley: Robbie Geddes, Adam Louricki, Zach Ritz, Keah Tobey

Springfield: Steven East, Colin Gallagher, Chris Walters, Billy Watson

Strath Haven: Gavin Birch, Andrew Lowman, Vincey Palermo, Ben Wainfan, Emmet Young

Upper Darby: Alex Cueva, Majid Kawa, Lionel Kone, Phil Nmah, Sheikh Sirleaf

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google +
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr



    Please log in to vote

    You need to log in to vote. If you already had an account, you may log in here

    Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.